Order of Interbeing

InterbeingThe Order of Interbeing, Tiep Hien in Vietnamese, is a community of monastics and lay people who have committed to living their lives in accord with the Fourteen Mindfulness Trainings, a distillation of the Bodhisattva (Enlightened Being) teachings of Mahayana Buddhism.

Established by Venerable Thich Nhat Hanh in Saigon in 1966, the Order of Interbeing was founded in the Linji tradition of Buddhist meditative practice and emphasizes the Four Spirits: non-attachment from views, direct experimentation on the nature of interdependent origination through meditation, appropriateness, and skilful means.

Regional Sanghas practicing mindfulness meditation and living in the Order of Interbeing tradition:

Blooming Heart Sangha in Minneapolis, MN

Compassionate Dharma Center in Minneapolis, MN

Flowing River Sangha in Sartell, MN

Red Cedar Buddha Sangha in Downsville, Wi

Snowflower Sangha in Madison, WI

1 Response to Order of Interbeing

  1. Judith Baldwin says:

    I seek a place for a month long retreat. I invite sangha interconnectedness for deep listening to help this – me – 66 year old woman with chronic pain and the stress and distancing that entails.

    Do you have people there at all times, or do you meet on a weekly basis? I have a very limited income; stairs and hills are difficult.

    Sincere regards – Judith Baldwin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s